In the News

City Kicks off Public Health Month with 'Luminaries' Awards

April 6, 2009 - The City of Springfield Public Health Committee kicked off Public Health Month today with an awards ceremony honoring the City's Public Health Luminaries. 

The theme of this year's awards is “Building a Healthier Springfield.” Helen R. Caulton-Harris, Director City of Springfield Division of Health and Human Services hosted the City Hall event, with keynote remarks by Jewel Mullen, MD, MPH, MPA and a proclamation Offered by Domenic J. Sarno, Mayor City of Springfield.

Public Health Month is a national observance highlighting public health practices and achievements. For Springfield, this month-long celebration draws attention to the cooperative efforts of local institutions, organizations and communities working to address our public health challenges by coordinating events that showcase local efforts.

The City of Springfield and the Public Health Committee presented the 13th annual Luminary Award and the Director’s Award.  The awards promote the recipients contribution towards optimal community, personal and environmental health in Springfield.  The Luminary Award is the highest honor that the Springfield Community of Public Health and Human Service Providers bestow.

The keynote speaker, Jewell Mullen, MD, MPH, MPA is the Director of the Bureau of Community Health Access and Promotion at the Massachusetts Department of Public Health.   Overseeing the divisions of Wellness, Health Promotion & Disease Prevention, Violence & Injury Prevention, Primary Care and Health Access, and the Office of Statistics & Evaluation, she creates policies and promotes programs to improve medical and public health services across the Commonwealth.  Prior to joining the MADPH, Dr. Mullen was the Medical Director of Baystate Mason Square Neighborhood Health Center in Springfield, MA.

left to right: Helen R. Caulton-Harris, Director, SDHHS; Jay Griffin "Luminary Award Recipient"; Mayor Domenic Sarno.
Mabel Sharif; Helen Caulton-Harris; Jay Griffin; Dr. Jeffrey Scavron; Dr. Jewel Mullen - Keynote speaker and Director's Award recipient; and Frances Hubbard.
Page last updated:  Tuesday, March 1, 2022 01:32 pm