In the News

Springfield School Committee Holds Organizational Meeting

Tuesday, January 3, 2017

The Springfield School Committee held its first meeting of 2017. During the organizational meeting, members unanimously voted Atty. Peter Murphy as Vice Chair and selected their new seating arrangements. The 2017 School Committee consists of Chairman Mayor Domenic J. Sarno, Vice Chair Atty. Peter Murphy,  Christopher Collins – Wards 6 & 7, Barbara Gresham – Wards 4 & 5, Denise Hurst – At Large, Rosa Perez – Wards 1 & 3, and Norman Roldan – At Large.

As instruments of the Massachusetts Legislature, local School Committees function primarily as a legislative body to formulate and adopt policy, by selecting an executive officer to implement policy, and by evaluating the results. They must carry out their functions openly, while seeking comments of the public, students and staff in its decision-making processes. The School Committee operates in accordance with the MGL Ch. 71 and 41, which delegate its authority.

Page last updated:  Tuesday, March 1, 2022 01:32 pm