In the News

2019 Springfield Colleen Coronation and Awards Presentation Ball

Mayor Domenic J. Sarno and Kerri Sullivan, President of the Springfield St. Patrick's Parade Committee announce that there is still time to purchase tickets to the 2019 Colleen Coronation and Awards Presentation Ball. The ball will be held on Saturday, January 26th at the Springfield Sheraton Monarch Place Hotel. Doors will open at 5:30 p.m.  It will be a fun-filled evening honoring the 2019 award winners and this year’s Springfield Colleen will also be selected at the event.  

Mayor Sarno stated, "The annual tradition of honoring Springfield's Irish community is one of our city’s long-standing traditions. I am delighted that the Parade Committee has chosen the Springfield Sheraton to host the event once again this year.  I encourage everyone to join us on January 26th to celebrate Springfield's Irish culture."

Kerri Sullivan added, "The 2019 ball will certainly be an enjoyable evening. We look forward to honoring the 2019 Parade Marshal, Monsignor David Joyce, our award winners, and the Colleen and her court.”   

The Parade Marshal is someone who has contributed greatly to the Irish community of Springfield, and will lead the Springfield contingent in the 2019 Holyoke St. Patrick’s Parade on Sunday, March 17, 2019.

The 2019 John & Agnes Burke Award winners are Tom and Mollie Sullivan. This award is presented in memory of John and Agnes Burke for outstanding service to the Irish community of the City of Springfield.

The 2019 Paul G. Caron Award winner is Bob Charland, “The Bike Guy”. This award is presented each year in memory of the founder of the Springfield Colleen Contest to someone who has contributed greatly to the Greater Springfield Community. 

The 2019 Mary B. Troy Appreciation Award winner is Paul A. Phaneuf. This award is presented in memory of Mary Brigid Troy to a person or business that has given outstanding service to the committee.​

The five colleen finalists are MaryKate Caron, 17, of Wilbraham; Lauren Poole, 20, of Wilbraham; Rose McCaffrey, 17, of Springfield; Caileen Simonds, 17, of East Longmeadow; and Mary MacDonnell, 17, of East Longmeadow. 

Those interested in attending can contact Kathy Sullivan at (413) 783-4445 or Patricia Ferrarini at (413) 782-3509 for tickets. Tickets will not be available at the door. 

For more information on this event and this year’s award winners, please visit the Springfield St. Patrick’s Parade Committee website

Page last updated:  Tuesday, March 1, 2022 01:32 pm